Prana (Lifeenergie / Mana / Qi / Chi)
Prana is the life energy that pervades the entire universe, present in the air, food, water and sunlight. It encourages all forms of life and flows through the etheric channels which are called Nadis.

Prana is the vital force between us. This life manifests itself, so that the physical body hereby consent to the incoming and outgoing breath are two opposite extremes, we consider them as a single. We say "breathing", but breathing has two extremes, inhalation and exhalation. All energy has two ends, all energy exists between two opposite poles, it can not exist otherwise. The opposite poles with its intention and harmony create energy as the magnetic poles.

Nadis/ Meridians

According to the philosophy of Yoga, the Nadis are etheric channels (ether in Sanskrit: Akasha), distributed throughout the body, through which the Prana (life energy) flows.

We have about 72,000 Nadis which form a dense interweaving of psychic-energetic channels that extend throughout the body.

In Chinese medicine, especially acupuncture and its derivations, the Nadis are related to the 'Meridians' or 'Qing' or 'King' and Prana with 'Qi' (energy).

The three main nadis are called Sushumna, Ida and Pingala. The interrelationship of these channels is symbolized by the caduceus of Mercury/ Hermes.

Ida Nadi:
Ida is a Sanskrit word that means "well-being". It begins and ends at the left of Sushumna, ending in the left nostril, also connected to the left testicle in men. It is feminine energy with a refreshing effect, is introverted, and refers to the right brain and the left side of the body. It is also called "Chandra" or "Moon" Nadi, as it is associated with the lunar energy. Ida Nadi controls all the mental processes. Carries prana energy, and feeds and purifies the body and mind.

Pingala Nadi:
Pingala is a Sanskrit word that means "bronze". It begins and ends at the right of Sushumna, and passes through the right testicle in men, culminating in the right nostril. It is masculine energy and has warm temperature, providing vitality, physical strength and efficiency. Governs the right side of the body and the left brain side. It is also called "Suria" or "Sun" Nadi, as it is related to the solar energy. Controls the vital processes. Pingala is extroverted.

Nadis Ida and Pingala indicate time, past and future respectively, Sushumna is the destroyer of time. It is the present moment and does not have time. These three nerves are directly related to the three "Gunas" or qualities that are expressed in every part of the physical world: "Tamas" which is inertia, "Rajas" which is activity and "Sattva" which is rhythm. Each person manifests the first two Gunas in one way or another. The development of Sattva, also defined as tranquility, requires balance of "Rajas" and "Tamas" into one.

Sushumna Nadi:
Sushumna is the central nerve (spinal cord) and means penetrating pipe. It is "Sattva", the rhythm behind the duality. It connects the Root Chakra with the Crown Chakra. The movement of the Sushumna shows the flow of the "prana" (vital energy) through the Ida and Pingala below the base of the spine where the Kundalini energy is wound up. Kundalini Shakti awakens and rises Sushumna, which feeds the seven chakras with energy. From the Muladhara Chakra (Root Chakra) Ida and Pingala alternate at each chakra up to the Ajna Chakra (Third Eye Chakra), where they meet again with Sushumna.

It is said that when Sushumna is activated, the yogi becomes invisible to the world. Then is where his real work begins. Ida and Pingala Nadis are stimulated through different practices, including Pranayama. It is said that these Nadis also possess extrasensory functions, playing an important part in empathic and intuitive responses. They are also linked with the sympathetic nervous system connected with the growth and the heating of the system.

The meeting of the three main Nadis in the Ajna Chakra is called Mukta Triveni (Mukta: released). Continuing behind the Ajna Chakra, Ida and Pingala end in the left and right nostrils respectively. Once the Kundalini Shakti has ascended through Sushumna to Sahasrara Chakra (Crown Chakra), the highest psychic center located in the crown of the head, it turns its course and comes back to the root to rest again. Normally Sushumma Nadi usually stays asleep when the other Nadis flow strongly and is only active when breathing is done through both nostrils simultaneously and automatically operates at dawn and dusk, calming the system, and facilitating meditation.

The real and final destination of the Kundalini are the higher Chakras, where it coresponds to. It will connect us with our memory, our origin as cosmic beings.

Choose your language

D | EN | ES

Download PDF